Northwestern University

Oct
13
Sun 4:00 PM

Chicago Humanities Festival: "On Julia Kristeva’s Couch"

When: Sunday, October 13, 2013
4:00 PM - 5:00 PM  

Where: Cahn Auditorium
600 Emerson Street  
Evanston, IL 60208 map it

Audience: Faculty/Staff - Student - Public

Contact: Tom Burke   (847) 491-7946

Group: Alice Kaplan Institute for the Humanities

Category: Academic

More Info

Add Event to Calendar Email Event More Events

Description:

 

Julia Kristeva is one of France’s most admired intellectuals and one of the world’s leading psychoanalytic thinkers. In the tradition of Sigmund Freud and Jacques Lacan, she has probed the vicissitudes of human nature as analyst and cultural critic, arriving at a novel conception of the subject as always in crisis. Developed in a series of books on such topics as abjection, desire, and melancholia, Kristeva’s corpus has unparalleled influence across the contemporary humanities. Kristeva joins Northwestern University English professor Jules Law for a conversation about her remarkable life and work. This program is generously underwritten by Ellen Stone Belic and features an artist, writer, or other creative authority reflecting on her extraordinary career. It is also presented in partnership with the Consulate General of France in Chicago.


Chicago Humanities Festival

Morry and Dolores Kohl Kaplan Northwestern Day

Sunday, Oct. 13, 2013


On Julia Kristeva’s Couch

Ellen Stone Belic Presents: In Her Infinite Wisdom

4–5 pm | Cahn Auditorium

G $10 ST Free


This event is Co-presented by the Alice Kaplan Institute for the Humanities.


Add Event To My Group:

Please sign-in