Northwestern University

Fri 9:00 AM

11th Annual ANSER Symposium: Solar Fuels

When: Friday, April 27, 2018
9:00 AM - 4:15 PM  

Where: 9th Floor (Hinman Auditorium), 1710 Orrington Ave, Evanston, IL 60201

Audience: Faculty/Staff - Student - Post Docs/Docs - Graduate Students

Cost: Free. Please register to attend.

Contact: Amanda Mahoney   847.467.4910

Group: Argonne-Northwestern Solar Energy Research Center

Category: Academic

More Info


Registration and info available at


Thursday, April 26, 2018 - Pancoe Auditorium, 2200 Campus Drive


Keynote Address:
Nate Lewis, Professor at Caltech, George L. Argyros Professor of Chemistry

"Materials by Design Principles in Artificial Photosynthesis: Discovery and Synergistic Integration of Light Absorbers, Electrocatalysts and Membranes for a Complete, Stable, Efficient, and Safe Solar Fuels Generator”

Friday, April 27, 2018 - Hilton Orrington Evanston, 1710 Orrington Ave, Evanston, IL 60201, 9th Floor (Hinman Auditorium)

9:00 a.m.-9:15 a.m.

Opening Remarks - Michael R. Wasielewski, Director, ANSER; Executive Director, ISEN

9:15 a.m.-10:15 a.m.

Talk 1: James McCusker, Michigan State University

“The Photophysics of First-row Transition Metal Complexes: Charge-transfer versus Ligand-field States and their Roles in Light Capture and Conversion”

10:15 a.m.-11:15 a.m.

Talk 2: R. Morris Bullock, PNNL

"Design of Molecular Electrocatalysts for the Production and Oxidation of Hydrogen”

11:15 a.m.-11:30 a.m.


11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

Talk 3: Jillian Dempsey, UNC Chapel Hill

“Proton-Coupled Electron Transfer Processes Underpinning the Production of Renewable Fuels"

12:30 p.m.-2:00 p.m.

Lunch Break

2:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m.

Talk 4: Shane Ardo, University of California, Irvine

"Protonic solar cells by dye sensitization of passive ion-exchange membranes with photoacids"

3:00 p.m.-4:00 p.m.

Talk 5: Kyoung-Shin Choi, University of Wisconsin

"Enhancing Photocurrent Generation and Photostability of BiVO4-Based Photoanodes”

4:00 p.m.-4:15 p.m.

Closing Remarks - Michael R. Wasielewski, Director, ANSER; Executive Director, ISEN

Register Add Event to Calendar

Add Event To My Group:

Please sign-in